Wong & Partners致力于提供务实的咨询建议,以协助客户实现其在马来西亚以及其他地区的业务和投资目标。凭借着国际视野、技术创新以及经验丰富的法律人才,本所能协助客户规避风险、把握机遇。

我们在本区域拥有超过20年的经验,能提供深谙本地市场、法律系统和商业惯例的法律建议。本所多年被《亚洲中东和北非法律顾问》评为“国内客户响应度最佳律师事务所”,并且多名律师被《钱伯斯》、《亚太法律500强》、《国际金融法律评论1000》和《亚洲法律概况》等业内知名的评选机构所认可并获得行业领先律师的荣誉称号。

Wong & Partners拥有一支活跃的资本市场业务团队,可为马来西亚最大的银行、金融机构、企业集团、政府关联企业、房地产开发商以及能源和基础设施公司提供优质服务。

我们以能够根据客户业务需求提供量身定制且实用的商业化建议而感到自豪。该团队主要工作有代表发行人和投资银行处理各种IPO、跨境上市和其他资本市场交易,包括债务、股票和与股票挂钩的发行,以及涉及上市公司在内的复杂的、跨多司法辖区的收购和剥离。

作为贝克·麦坚时的成员所,我们能够为国际债务和股票证券发行提供咨询,例如伊斯兰融资、首次公开募股、144A/ Regulation 规则发行、海外证券交易所上市、房地产投资信托基金、特殊金融架构以及金融监管和证券诉讼。

 

联系人


Munir Abdul Aziz

副主管合伙人
邮件
电话: + 60 3 2298 7854


林津贤 Mark Lim

合伙人
邮件
电话: + 60 3 2298 7960

我们的竞争和反垄断团队可以帮助确保贵司的合规策略完全符合不断更新的本地竞争标准以及国外各不相同的法规要求。我们的团队可以提供竞争咨询、竞争合规、从宽处理申请、卡特尔调查和辩护,以及民事和刑事竞争诉讼。

我们的团队拥有丰富的资源,可以帮助您有效地应对突袭检查和卡特尔调查,从而减轻对您的业务和声誉可能带来的损害。必要时,我们还可以凭借丰富的诉讼经验,在法庭和监管机构前以及私下反竞争活动中保护贵司的商业利益和员工。

作为贝克·麦坚时的成员所,我们在对本地法律和商业问题有深刻了解的同时,也拥有对超过65个反垄断司法辖区的知识和洞察力,其中包括被马来西亚竞争法密切效仿的的英国和新加坡。

 

联系人


颜寿林 Andre Gan

主管合伙人
邮件
电话: + 60 3 2298 7828

我们的争议解决团队通过了解贵司的商业战略、确定潜在冲突并找到有效的诉讼或仲裁方法来帮助客户管理和解决争议。本所经常代表本地大型企业集团、政府关联企业、上市公司和跨国公司处理一系列民事和商业纠纷,并有能力处理那些会对马来西亚未来案件审理产生重大影响的极具挑战性的纠纷案件。

本所为众多客户成功解决过各类民事和商业纠纷,包括违约、合资企业/并购交易后期纠纷、破产诉讼、股东纠纷和董事责任违约等。本所律师在为客户取得单方面禁令、资产冻结令和其他临时救济措施,以及处理合同和侵权行为方面(包括疏忽、虚假陈述、滋扰和诽谤)也经验丰富。

本所拥有大量的处理建筑和工程领域纠纷、仲裁和裁审事宜的经验。我们深知建筑项目中所有利益相关者(如雇主、总承包商、分包商、供应商和设计工程师)面临的技术和法律问题。除了我们的核心诉讼业务外,本所的仲裁业务也在不断增长。我们的律师能熟练运用各常设仲裁机构制定的仲裁程序。这包括亚洲国际仲裁中心(AIAC)、新加坡国际仲裁中心(SIAC)、国际仲裁法院(ICC)以及联合国国际贸易法委员会(UNCITRAL)仲裁规则下进行的个别仲裁。

 

联系人


丘克莹 Kherk Ying (Kherk) Chew

合伙人
邮件
电话: + 60 3 2298 7933


本所劳动法律师能够协助您遵照马来西亚雇佣、劳动和移民法的要求,执行从招聘、薪酬到培训和终止劳务关系的各阶段事宜。我们能够提供结合就业、合规性和税务筹划等各方面的综合性咨询建议,范围涵盖从员工迁移、重组后雇员削减、数据隐私、企业重组、员工薪酬福利计划,到公司内部调查、对不合法终止和不公正解雇的公司内部调查、替代性争议解决机制、高管解约协议及劳动法庭诉讼,涉及诉讼和非诉的所有事务。

本所还为人力资源相关的,直接影响客户业务的运营事宜提供法律建议,并与贝克·麦坚时其他成员所的律师合作,为内部和外部沟通以及跨境雇佣问题提供支持。

 

联系人


谢福义 Brian H.G. Chia

合伙人
邮件
电话: + 60 3 2298 7999


我们的融资与项目团队在传统银行与融资、伊斯兰融资、债券资本市场和大型项目等业务领域非常精通,并且对客户的行业和战略需求也有深入的了解

我们代表金融机构和公司借款人处理贷款交易中的各类问题。这些交易包括单边银行贷款和信用贷款(从短期无担保信贷到涉及跨境抵押品的全球银行信贷)、双边贷款、银团贷款、以及风险参与、常见定期贷款、循环贷款、信用证贷款和/ 或投标贷款融资。

本所经验丰富的资本市场团队可以为发行人和承销商提供与证券发行和其他筹资活动各方面有关的法律和监管问题咨询。他们还协助执行IPO、私募、证券交易所上市以及涉及多个司法辖区多种语言的尽职调查。该团队也代表金融机构处理其作为代理、高级贷款人、其他银团贷款参与方、风险参与的卖方或买方以及作为直接贷款利息的转让人或受让人的相关事宜。

该团队下的项目业务团队对基础设施行业了解颇深,能够为客户提供日常业务支持之外的增值法律服务。该团队具备能够处理跨境投资业务的能力,这也是东南亚地区基础设施项目日益呈现的一大特征。该团队能够为项目安排及协议、资格预审和招标程序、项目架构和风险分析、电力交易和可再生能源领域提供专业建议。

 

联系人


林津贤 Mark Lim

合伙人
邮件
电话: + 60 3 2298 7960

我们的金融服务与监管团队在金融服务行业相关领域具有丰富的经验,并与监管机构建立了良好的关系,能够为客户提供合规方面的一手资讯。我们在银行、证券、基金管理和保险等受严格监管领域的丰富经验,意味着我们拥有一个成熟的平台,可以根据客户的特殊需求提供定制的合规计划,并协调来自多个司法管辖区的建议。

我们能够协助客户准备和审查基金文件和投资管理协议,提供包括基金发行和跨境活动、内幕交易和市场违法行为在内的各类法规咨询。我们还为参与金融技术产品和服务的创新、投资和开发的金融机构和企业提供法律咨询服务。

本所还协助客户取得监管机构许可及注册,并为运营中持续的监管和合规要求提供意见。我们还在反洗钱和尽职调查方面为客户提供法律建议,并协助客户进行内部调查、应对监管部门提问、审计和各类调查。

 

联系人


Sue Wan Wong

合伙人
邮件
电话: + 60 3 2298 7884

本所知识产权团队为客户就马来西亚知识产权的各类问题提供法律咨询服务,包括商标组合管理、设计和专利注册、知识产权维权、特许/媒体协议准备、知识产权审计、交易类项目涉及的知识产权以及知识产权和商标诉讼。我们专注于创新驱动的业务——从技术到制药、生命科学和医疗设备——并为不同行业的知识产权保护、使用、开发和实施提供可靠的建议。

我们的律师对商业事项、合规规定和其他法律上的微妙差异均有深入理解,能够帮助客户高效地完成交易,并在保留或充分发挥其知识产权价值的同时实现其商业目标。在复杂的跨境交易或不断变化的企业环境中,我们可以就有关知识产权所有权、开发、使用、销售或收购、迁移和保护等错综复杂的问题的提供综合、一致的建议。

本所商标相关的服务包括商标起诉、商标组合管理和咨询。我们可以提供商标检索和通关服务,包括对非传统领域商标,例如气味、声音、三维形状和仅颜色标记的可注册性进行评估。我们的团队还可以协助企业集中管理和监控全球商标申请并处理例如接收客户指令、账单和报告等日常事务。在许可方面,我们可以建议、谈判并起草商标转让和许可协议,并在其他涉及商标的交易中提供协助。这包括为跨多司法辖区品牌建立和品牌重塑计划提供建议,进行商标尽职调查和审核。作为一家全球律师事务所的成员所,我们能够制定和执行全球协调一致的打假和执法行动、商标异议和注销程序、商标侵权诉讼以及包括域名在内的其他与执法相关的纠纷。

我们在马来西亚拥有一支专门的专利团队,他们以解决问题为导向,在专利注册、许可、诉讼、咨询工作以及专利起诉方面提供法律建议。我们在进行发明披露、发明人汇报、起草和修改规格以及准备和提交申请方面经验丰富。我们的团队还擅长在实质审查阶段为专利申请人在应对异议及辩明技术独特性方面提供咨询意见。

 

联系人


丘克莹 Kherk Ying (Kherk) Chew

合伙人
邮件
电话: + 60 3 2298 7933

凭借着我们在金融科技、保险科技、电子支付系统合规和许可、颠覆性技术的采用(即人工智能、大数据、云计算)、网络安全问题、数据隐私和保护、数字媒体监管问题、软件许可和知识产权问题以及数字税收等行业增长领域的广泛经验,Wong & Partners在帮助客户整合和开发新科技以实现其业务战略方面处于TMT领域前沿。本所在引领并执行科技企业的合资和并购交易方面经验丰富。我们常期协助客户处理数字化/在线交易的合规和监管事宜,涵盖电子银行、电子支付、B2B 和B2C各类型交易。

本所服务内容的广度和深度使得我们成为众多全球领先科技企业处理科技咨询和争议性问题、提供整体解决方案、协助其操作大型项目和/或进入马来西亚市场的首选律所。

 

联系人


王维杰 Adeline Wong

合伙人
邮件
电话: + 60 3 2298 7880


谢福义 Brian H.G. Chia

合伙人
邮件
电话: + 60 3 2298 7999


丘克莹 Kherk Ying (Kherk) Chew

合伙人
邮件
电话: + 60 3 2298 7933

 

并购

我们的并购团队可为客户在交易各个阶段中面临的挑战提供综合且完善的建议。我们与公司、证券、知识产权、雇佣和税务团队的同事紧密合作,确保交易符合各类法规要求。我们帮助客户采用有效的交易架构、在谈判和执行交易中更有把握,并在交易执行前后提供全方位的支持。

我们的律师在许多领域经验丰富,包括上市公司收购、首次公开发行、权益发行、受限发行、私募、股权出售和股权交换。我们经常与监管机构合作并向其提供咨询建议,尤其是与证券委员会和马来西亚国家银行审批事宜相关的领域。

作为贝克·麦坚时的成员所,我们是全球开展并购交易业务最活跃的律所之一,向来在各类交易中代表着众多上市公司和私有企业(包括涉及50多个国家和地区、数十亿美元的交易)。与许多委派外籍律师来执行跨境交易的律师事务所不同,我们与贝克·麦坚时世界各地的成员所密切合作,能够为客户量身定制结合本地知识且实用的策略。

 

联系人


谢福义 Brian H.G. Chia

合伙人
邮件
电话: + 60 3 2298 7999


颜寿林 Andre Gan

主管合伙人
邮件
电话: + 60 3 2298 7828


Munir Abdul Aziz

副主管合伙人
邮件
电话: + 60 3 2298 7854

我们的私募股权团队可以帮助管理您在马来西亚各阶段的投资或资产剥离事务。我们为风投资本、私募股权基金、主权财富基金、机构投资者、战略投资者、被投资公司和管理团队就与私募股权相关的各种活动提供法律建议。

我们常为风险投资和私募股权交易的各方面提供咨询建议,服务内容从各种业务事项审查(例如证券、环境处理、知识产权、雇佣、税收)到尽职调查、文件准备和谈判、监管合规和所有其他辅助事宜。

我们提供有关业务设立、基金建立、业务拆分、管理层收购和换购、并购融资以及各种形式的私募股权投资和撤资的实用建议。我们可以就退出计划,包括公司出售、发行和IPO等提供咨询。我们善于与客户的交易执行团队进行能力整合,将他们惯常使用的方法与我们的最佳实践相结合,以应对各种监管挑战并确保资金效率。经过整合的能力使得我们能在公开拍卖和谈判交易中代表买卖双方迅速采取行动,并能在紧迫的时限内高效完成复杂的跨境交易。

 

联系人


谢福义 Brian Chia

合伙人
邮件
电话: + 60 3 2298 7999

Stephanie Phua
合伙人
邮件
电话: + 60 3 2298 7895

凭借着深厚的本土知识,本所成为众多本地和跨国房地产客户的首选律所。我们常为在房地产领域中有重要影响力的公司提供有关房地产投资、并购、合资、拆分和特殊公司事务方面的建议。

我们的专业知识和经验涵盖了整个马来西亚投资市场。我们为设立并架构适当的控股公司、证券化,和通过股权进行间接收购、合资提供实用建议。我们可以协助客户完成各阶段地产收购或剥离,并就各种相关问题提供法律指导,例如获得房地产开发许可和合规审批,协助准备与房地产相关的文件,例如酒店管理协议、技术服务协议、开发协议和其他相关协议等。

我们还为房地产活动提供全方位的法律支持,包括公司和税务建议。我们的客户包括开发商、基金公司、专业资产运营公司(如酒店、制造企业及其他公司)以及终端用户。

 

联系人


谢福义 Brian H.G. Chia

合伙人
邮件
电话: + 60 3 2298 7999


杨贤祥 Yong Hsian Siong

合伙人
邮件
电话: +60 3 2298 7861

我们的税务、贸易及财富管理团队可以通过周密的税收筹划来帮助您全面地解决税收问题。凭借广博的税法知识以及对税务和贸易领域最新动态的掌握,我们能协助客户设计并实施经过税收优化的公司架构和交易,并在发生税收争议时为客户辩护。

本所协助客户处理过各种各样的马来西亚税务问题,提供从转让定价到印花税、从贸易救济到数字税收、从业务重组到私人财富管理事务的策略性务实建议。我们的团队在税收政策和税收激励措施领域能力尤为突出,在与包括内陆税收局、马来西亚投资发展局和马来西亚皇家海关在内的各部委和监管机构交涉中游刃有余。此外,我们的团队具备为跨国客户解决其复杂且独特的税务问题的经验。我们的律师具有本地执业资格,并且深谙马来西亚微妙的商业和文化差异,可以协助您处理可能遇到的最具挑战性和最复杂的各种税收、法律和商业问题。

 

联系人

王维杰 Adeline Wong
合伙人
邮件
电话: + 60 3 2298 7880

Wong & Partners provides practical advice to help clients meet their business objectives and investment goals in Malaysia and beyond. With a global outlook, innovative technology and seasoned legal talent, we help clients navigate risk and seize opportunity.

With more than 20 years of experience in the region, we are able to give advice that reflects a deep understanding of local markets, legal systems and business practices. We have been acknowledged by Asian-MENA Counsel to be among the "Most Responsive Domestic Firms" for several years, and many of our lawyers have been recognised and ranked by reputable legal directories such as Chambers, Legal 500, IFLR1000 and Asialaw Profiles.

Our competition and antitrust team can help to ensure that your compliance strategies are seamlessly consistent and help you meet evolving local competition standards as well as disparate regulations abroad. Our team can provide competition counselling, competition compliance, leniency applications, cartel investigations and defence, and civil and criminal competition litigation.

We have expansive resources to help you effectively respond to dawn raids and cartel investigations, helping mitigate liabilities that can damage your business and reputation. When necessary, we can also bring to bear our extensive litigation experience to defend your business interests and staff before courts and regulators, as well as in private actions against anti-competitive activities. As a member firm of Baker McKenzie, we have a deep understanding of local legal and business issues, with the knowledge and insight across more than 65 antitrust jurisdictions, including the UK and Singapore, which Malaysia's competition legislation closely follows.

 

Contact


Andre Gan

Managing Partner
Email
T + 60 3 2298 7828

Our dispute resolution practice helps you manage and resolve disputes by understanding your business strategies, identifying potential areas of conflict and finding ways to litigate or arbitrate effectively. We actively represent major local conglomerates, government-linked companies, publicly listed companies and multinational corporations in a range of civil and commercial disputes, even managing challenging disputes that will have major bearing on future cases in Malaysia.

We have successfully represented clients in a wide range of civil and commercial disputes involving areas of law such as breach of contract, post joint venture/M&A disputes, insolvency litigation, shareholders disputes and breach of directors' duties. Our lawyers are also experienced in obtaining ex parte injunctions, Mareva injunctions and other interim reliefs, contracts and torts, including negligence, misrepresentation, nuisance and defamation.

The Firm has extensive experience in handling disputes, arbitration and adjudication in the construction and engineering sector as we understand the technical and legal issues faced by all stakeholders in a construction project, such as employers, main contractors, subcontractors, suppliers and design engineers.

While litigation is our core strength, we also have a growing arbitration practice. Our lawyers are fluent in arbitration proceedings administered by established institutions, including the Asian International Arbitration Centre (AIAC), Singapore International Arbitration Centre (SIAC), International Court of Arbitration (ICC), as well as ad hoc arbitrations held under the United Nations Commission on International Trade Law (UNCITRAL) rules.

 

Contact


Kherk Ying (Kherk) Chew

Partner
Email
T + 60 3 2298 7933


Our employment lawyers help you stay in compliance with Malaysia’s employment, labour and immigration laws at every step, from hiring and compensation to training and termination. We are able to provide comprehensive advisory services combining employment, compliance and tax-driven advice, where applicable, on both contentious and non-contentious matters such as employee migrations, post-M&A workforce reductions, data privacy, corporate restructuring, employee benefit plans, internal corporate investigations of unlawful termination and unfair dismissal claims, alternative dispute resolution mechanisms, executive termination agreements and Industrial Court litigation.

We are also known to advise on HR-related operational matters that directly impact the businesses of our clients, providing support on internal and external communication, as well as on cross-border employment issues with guidance from our fellow lawyers in other Baker McKenzie member firms.

 

Contact


Brian H.G. Chia

Partner
Email
T + 60 3 2298 7999


Our finance and projects practice encompasses teams that are well-versed in conventional banking and financing, Islamic financing, debt capital markets and projects, with a deep knowledge and understanding of our clients' industries and strategic needs.

We represent both financial institutions and corporate borrowers in every manner and aspect of loan transactions. These transactions include single bank loans and credit facilities (ranging from short-term unsecured facilities to global banking facilities involving multijurisdictional collateral), bilateral loans, syndicated loans and participations, and typically comprise term loans, revolving loans, letter of credit facilities and/or bid loan facilities.

Our experienced capital markets practice also provides advice on legal and regulatory concerns for issuers and underwriters on all aspects of securities offerings and other capital-raising activities They also assist in executing public offerings, private placements, stock exchange listings and multijurisdictional, multi-language due diligence. The practice also represents financial institutions in their capacities as agents, senior lenders or other syndicate members, sellers or purchasers of participations, and assignors or assignees of direct loan interests.

The projects practice, which is embedded within this larger practice group, truly understands the infrastructure market, providing value-added legal services beyond transactional support. This enables the team to handle cross-border investments, which are an increasingly prominent feature of infrastructure projects in the Southeast Asia region. The practice is able to provide advice on project arrangements and agreements, pre-qualification and tendering procedures, project structuring and risk analysis, power transactions and other dealings in the renewable energy sector.

 

Contact


Mark Lim

Partner
Email
T + 60 3 2298 7960

Our financial services and regulatory (FSR) team has deep experience in understanding the particular drivers relevant to the financial services industry. With an established relationship with the regulatory authorities, we obtain firsthand perspectives in advising clients on regulatory compliance. Our broad experience in highly regulated sectors, including banking, securities, fund management and insurance, means we have a ready platform for tailoring proactive compliance programmes to clients’ specialised needs and coordinating advice from multiple jurisdictions.

We are able to assist clients in preparing and reviewing fund documentations and investment management agreements, rendering ad-hoc regulatory advice, including regulatory advice for fund offering and cross-border activities, insider trading and market conduct offences. We advise financial institutions and businesses involved in the innovation, investment and development of financial technology (fintech) products and services.

The Firm has also assisted and advised clients in obtaining licences and registrations from regulatory authorities and ongoing regulatory and compliance requirements, rendering advice on anti-money laundering and customer due diligence as well as assisting with the internal review and managing responses to regulatory questions, audits and investigations.

 

Contact


Sue Wan Wong

Partner
Email
T + 60 3 2298 7884

Our intellectual property (IP) practice advises clients on all aspects of IP issues in Malaysia, including trademark portfolio management, design and patent registration, enforcement of IP rights, licencing/media agreements preparation, IP audits, transactional IP, and IP or trademark litigation. We are immersed in innovation-driven businesses—from technology to pharmaceuticals, life sciences and medical devices—and can provide sound counsel on the protection, use, exploitation and enforcement of IP for different industries.

Our lawyers have a deep understanding of business matters, compliance regulations and other legal nuances to help clients execute transactions efficiently and realise commercial goals while preserving or optimising the value of their IP. We can provide integrated and coordinated advice on intersecting issues of IP ownership, development, use, sale or acquisition, migration and protection during the most intricate cross-border deals or amid changes in the corporate environment.

Our trademarks-related services include trademark prosecution, portfolio management and advisory work. We can perform trademark search and clearance services, including the evaluation of registrability in non-traditional areas such as scent, sound, three-dimensional shapes and colour-only marks. Our team can also help to centrally manage and monitor global trademark filing and handle administrative matters such as client instruction intake, billing and reporting tasks. On the licencing aspect, we can advise on, negotiate and draft trademark assignment and licencing agreements, and advise on other commercial transactions involving trademarks, including multijurisdictional branding and re-branding programmes, conducting trademark due diligence and audits. As a member of a global law firm, we are able to formulate and implement globally coordinated anti-counterfeiting and enforcement programmes, trademark opposition and cancellation proceedings, trademark infringement litigation and other enforcement-related disputes, including proceedings involving domain names.

We have a dedicated patents team in Malaysia who take a solution-oriented approach, providing advice in patent registrations, licencing, litigation, advisory work and patent prosecution. We have experience in taking invention disclosures, debriefing inventors, drafting and revising specifications, as well as preparing and filing applications. The team is also adept at advising patent applicants on overcoming objections and distinguishing prior art at the substantive examination stage.

 

Contact


Kherk Ying (Kherk) Chew

Partner
Email
T + 60 3 2298 7933

Wong & Partners' TMT practice is at the forefront of helping clients incorporate and develop new technologies to enable their business strategies, with a wide experience in industry growth sectors such as fintech, insurtech, e-payment systems compliance and licencing, the adoption of disruptive technologies (i.e., AI, big data, cloud computing), cybersecurity issues, data privacy and protection, digital media regulatory issues, software licencing and intellectual property issues, and digital taxation, among others.

On the transactional front, we are experienced in leading and executing technology-focused joint ventures and M&A transactions. We regularly assist in contractual and regulatory issues arising from digital/online businesses, including e-banking, e-payments, B2B and B2C transactions.

As a result of the breadth and depth of the work we do, we are the go-to firm for some of the world's leading tech companies on technology advisory and contentious matters, providing them with holistic solutions and supporting them on major projects and/or entries into Malaysia.

 

Contacts


Adeline Wong

Partner
Email
T + 60 3 2298 7880


Brian H.G. Chia

Partner
Email
T + 60 3 2298 7999


Kherk Ying (Kherk) Chew

Partner
Email
T + 60 3 2298 7933

 

Mergers & Acquisitions

Our mergers and acquisitions (M&A) practice helps clients address challenges at all phases of a transaction with sophisticated and comprehensive advice. We work closely with colleagues from our corporate, securities, intellectual property, employment and tax practices to ensure compliance with regulatory requirements. We provide services to effectively structure, confidently negotiate and execute transactions, providing comprehensive support before and after deal execution.

Our lawyers are active and experienced in a wide range of areas, including public company takeovers, IPOs, rights issues, restricted issues, private placements, offers of sale and share swaps. We frequently collaborate with and are consulted by regulators, particularly in relation to submissions to the Securities Commission and Bank Negara Malaysia.

As a member firm of Baker McKenzie, we are one of the world’s most active transactional firms, acting for public and private companies on a wide range of deals — including multibillion-dollar transactions spanning more than 50 countries. Unlike many law firms that assign expatriate lawyers to execute cross-border deals, we work seamlessly with other Baker McKenzie member firms worldwide to devise practical, tailored strategies based on authentic local knowledge.

 

Contacts


Brian H.G. Chia

Partner
Email
T + 60 3 2298 7999


Andre Gan

Partner
Email
T + 60 3 2298 7828


Munir Abdul Aziz

Partner
Email
T + 60 3 2298 7854

Our private equity (PE) practice can help you manage every stage of your investment or divestiture in Malaysia. We represent venture capital, PE funds, sovereign wealth funds, institutional investors, strategic investors, portfolio companies and management teams.

We advise on a full spectrum of PE-related activity, including various aspects of venture capital and private equity transactions, ranging from a review of various business matters (such as securities, environmental processes, intellectual property, employment, tax) to due diligence, preparation and negotiation of documentation, compliance with regulatory requirements and all other ancillary matters.

We offer practical advice on establishing operations, setting up funds, spin-offs, management buyouts and buy-ins, acquisition financing and various forms of PE investment and divestment transactions. We can help with exit strategies, including trade sales, offerings and IPOs. We merge our capacities with our client’s deal execution teams, combining their preferred methods with our best practices to satisfy diverse regulatory challenges and ensure fund efficiency. Our integrated capabilities enable us to act quickly for buyers and sellers in auctions and negotiated transactions and effectively carry out complex, cross-border deals even under tight deadlines.

 

Contacts


Brian Chia

Partner
Email
T + 60 3 2298 7999

Stephanie Phua
Partner
Email
T + 60 3 2298 7895

Our deep local knowledge has enabled us to be the port of call for many local and multinational clients in the real estate sector. We are often called upon to advise on real estate investments, M&As, joint ventures, spin-offs and special corporate transactions for stakeholders with material interests in the sector.

Our know-how and experience spans the entire Malaysian investment market. We offer practical advice for establishing and structuring the appropriate holding vehicles, securitisation and indirect acquisition by way of equity and joint ventures. We also assist with all steps involving the acquisition or divestiture of property. We also provide guidance on various ancillary issues, such as obtaining approvals for property development and regulatory compliance as well as assisting with real estate-related documentation, such as hotel management agreements, technical services agreements, development agreements and other related agreements.

We further provide complete legal support for real estate activities, including corporate and tax advice. Our clients include developers, funds, owners of specialised assets such as hotels, manufacturing concerns and other corporations, and end users.

 

Contacts


Brian H.G. Chia

Partner
Email
T + 60 3 2298 7999


Yong Hsian Siong

Partner
Email
T +60 3 2298 7861

Our tax, trade and wealth management practice can help address your tax issues holistically through careful and sophisticated tax planning. With our broad knowledge of tax law and the latest updates to the tax and trade regimes, we can help you design and implement tax-efficient corporate structures and transactions, and defend your position should tax controversies arise.

We are engaged by clients to work on a vast range of Malaysian tax matters, providing strategic and practical advice on issues such as transfer pricing, stamp duty, trade remedies, digital taxation, business restructurings and private wealth matters. Our team is particularly strong in the area of tax policy and tax incentive initiatives, and can confidently engage with various ministries and regulators, including the Inland Revenue Board, Malaysian Industrial Development Authority and the Royal Customs of Malaysia. Additionally, our team has experience advising on complex and novel tax issues faced by some of our multinational clients. Locally qualified and fully versed in Malaysian business and cultural nuances, our lawyers can deal with even the most challenging and complex tax, legal and commercial issues you may encounter.

 

Contact

Adeline Wong
Partner
Email
T + 60 3 2298 7880